You can go and get married in Monroe County, or anywhere else within the state. You do not have to be a prior or active Monroe County or Michigan resident to get issued a usable marriage license. Monroe County, Michigan Public Records Directory - Quickly find public record sources in the largest human edited public record directory. Monroe, MI Wedding Guide. 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. / M – F. Michigan Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Requirements for a marriage license vary from state to state and different stipulations could also be included on a county level. If you were born in Monroe County, MI, order your certificate from this county. No. Wayne County, MI . … No, unfortunately you can't get married by proxy in Monroe County or anywhere else in Michigan. Column Descriptions Columns 1 & 2: Names of the groom and bride, surname first. The Monroe County Clerk’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. County Clerk and Recorder Pages County Clerk & Recorder The Role of certified marriage records in Monroe County, MI . Michigan Marriages, 1822-1995 Family Search . No, unless entered into the relationship prior to January 1, 1957. $30 for non-residents. Applying for a Marriage License. Spouse first name. Aggravated Assaults in 2012: 200 … You have to be at least 18 years old in order to marry without getting consent from a parent or legal guardian within Monroe County. You can get it reissued from the same Monroe County office you submitted your original application to. The Clerk's Office provides this service at the following locations: Key West Courthouse 500 Whitehead Street (corner of Whitehead & Southard, Lester Bldg.) The waiting period does not include the application day. Michigan Marriage Records provide information about marriage licenses, certificates, and registries in MI. It's based on an accepted understanding between the partners that you're basically cohabitating. Lansing, MI 48909 Copies of marriage licenses may be obtained from the office of the clerk who originally issued the marriage license. There is a three-day waiting period after the application before the license may be issued and used. Each copy of the Certified Marriage License (required for name change at BMV, SSN, etc.) If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit. If you are 16 or 17 years old, you can get married with parental consent. Many vital records are available from a Coroner or Medical Examiner, including autopsy reports, investigator reports, … 106 E First Monroe, MI 48161 . $30.00 – Non-residents, Monroe County Clerk Start your marriage license application online Applicants will receive license the same day they apply. Monroe County Marriage License Monroe MI Monroe County Clerk, 106 East First 48161 734-240-7020. Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 1,820,584 population Ranked 1/83 counties . No, whether you live in Monroe County or are just visiting, the standard is the same. Step 3 Pay the Fee for the Copy of Marriage License in Michigan . The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. 28.94 miles away Has one office . Not even if you were common law married in another state. Marriage license are issued the same day that you apply. Spouse middle name. Include payment ($10.00 for each record or copy requested) in the form … Learn more about marriage licenses, documents concerning the dissolution of a marriage, immigrant marriage laws, and more. Marriage Certificates: Marriage records are available beginning with 1818, for licenses applied for and subsequently filed with the Monroe County Clerk. Monroe County, MI Birth, Death, Marriage, Divorce Records . Date of marriage State of marriage. There is a three (3) day waiting period in Michigan. Search for Monroe County MI marriage license rules and requirements. Monroe County Marriage Records Index, 1818-1881, 2nd Edition Preface Groom & Bride Sections This index is divided into two sections separated by a colored sheet, the first alphabetically by groom’s surname, and the second by the bride’s surname. Both parties must sign the affidavit and be present to apply for the license. Spouse 1 name and information. A Monroe County marriage license can be bought for $20.00 for in-state residents and $30.00 for out-of-state residents. License is not available for pick-up on weekends or holidays. Monroe County Coroners and Medical Examiners investigate deaths within their jurisdiction and perform autopsies and other postmortem examinations in Monroe County, MI. 24 Lawyers Are Online. The Monroe County Clerk (Monroe County Vital Records) issues certified copies of Monroe County birth certificates, Monroe County death certificates, and Monroe County marriage records, for events which occurred within Monroe County. A minister of the gospel who is ordained or authorized by his or her church to perform marriages and who is a pastor of a church in this state, or continues to preach the gospel in this state may perform marriages. Requirements for Marriage licenses in the County of Monroe, Michigan are as follows: Both parties must have a driver's license or state ID. The marriage license fee is $20.00 for residents of Michigan. Keep in mind that if you were not born in Michigan, you'll have to order your certified copy from your state or country of birth. to obtain a marriage license application. In Monroe County, the Clerk's Office is the issuing agent of Marriage License for the State of Florida. It is important that you verify all information with the Monroe Clerk’s office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license. The Clerk's Office does not automatically provide this. Marriage A certified copy of the Certificate of Marriage. The following is required of both parties: Valid driver’s license or state ID showing current address. 106 East First Do not apply if your ceremony will be held more than 34 days from today. Marriage records of individuals who applied for a marriage license within Monroe County are available 1818 to present. $30 for non-residents. The marriage license fee is $18 if one or both parties are Indiana residents and $60.00 for out-of-state residents. For the purpose of marriage application, residency is determined by a current valid driver’s license or state I.D. Official Marriage Records provide information about whether a marriage is legally valid, the names of both parties to the marriage, and when the wedding took place. Michigan Civil Marriages, 1834-1974 Family Search . If you plan to get married in Monroe County, MI, or elsewhere within Michigan, you must complete a marriage license application. City where the marriage license was issued. Michigan does not recognize common law marriages. Box 30195 State Census 1. Search for Monroe County FL marriage license rules and requirements. $20.00 – Residents This is not a copy of the marriage license. They also offer online ordering of all available records. Michigan Drivers License Michigan Missing Children Search Michigan Most Wanted Michigan Newspaper Search Michigan People Search ... Below you will find a collection of offline providers for Michigan State County of Monroe Marriage records, these are both governmental agencies and privately run organizations. You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage application in Michigan. You'll only need to specify the date your divorce was finalized, or the date your spouse died. (734) 240-7020 Michigan Marriage Records. Your expired marriage license is no longer valid. 302. You may find the form Request for Birth, Death, Marriage on the Related Forms page or order by credit card from the ONLINE SERVICES page. • Terms & Privacy. Additional information can be found on the Monroe County Michigan website. This is the one document you don’t want to forget or leave to the last minute, it's what makes it legal. You have 33 days to use it once it's been issued. © 2021 U.S. Request your official Monroe County NY Marriage Certificate by Mail from Home. Locations that distribute marriage licenses are typically located in the Take the time to see what restrictions apply to you. If you are cousins, you cannot get a marriage license from Monroe County or anywhere else within Michigan. USA (1,112,756) > Michigan (28,543) > Michigan Marriage Records (690) Statewide Marriage Records. Both parties must be 16 years of age with the signed consent of their parents or 18 years of age without their parents consent. Note: If you can't afford the license fee, the probate court can waive it. *Online applications only (if applicable). Monroe County Marriage License 530 Whitehead Street Key West FL 33040 305-294-4641 Marriage information. City of … Your parents must appear with their own identification and if a custodial parent, proof of their custody. You must be 18 years of age to apply for a marriage application in Michigan. You can make use of an online marriage name change service to get the process started, before or after you get married in Monroe County or elsewhere in Michigan. Very few states still do. Michigan recognizes same-sex marriages as valid as any other marriage. The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of issuance. 1850-1880 - Michigan Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection 2. Monroe, MI 48161 Go There . (Civil War veterans only) Digital version at FamilySearch Digita… Otherwise, order it from the MI county of your birth. You must get married within thirty days. There is a slight 3 day waiting period following the submission of your application before you can get your license. New Marriage Certificate, Replace Marriage Certificate, Copy of Marriage Certificate. 344,791 population Ranked 6/83 counties … The license is valid for 60 days in Indiana. Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If passport is used instead of birth certificate, full names of both parents and the state or country where they were born must be provided at time of application. When you get married, you'll be provided a marriage certificate (filed in Monroe County) which provides proof of marriage and is the primary document used to facilitate the name change process. Another marriage certificate must be returned to the county clerk who issued the license within 10 days after the marriage. : If both parties are out-of-state residents, you must apply in the county where you are going to be married. $30.00 non-residents fee Same price . Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. Ph: 517.335.8656. In order to obtain the first copy of marriage license in Michigan, you’ll usually have to pay $26 for the first copy you receive—and this fee may range from county to county. State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request. Monroe County, MI Birth, Death, Marriage, Divorce Records Monroe County offers a large number of resources and links on its County Clerk website for researching the vital records of the area. Vol 3. The license is valid in that county only. If either you or your fiancé is a resident of Michigan, the marriage license will cost $20. You'll use it to complete your name change across various government and non-government institutions. Preferred method of payment is cash. Available Monroe County Michigan, County Clerk, Michigan (MI) Marriage Record Types. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall. First Copy: $12.00 Additional Copies: $5.00 Marriage Record Order Methods. No, Monroe County will not issue marriage licenses for common law marriages. If a marriage ceremony does not occur, the license shall be void after thirty days from the date of issuance. To complete the application for a marriage license, a couple must: Marriage License applications are available through the Monroe Clerk’s Office. Whether you live in Monroe County MI marriage certificates: marriage records 1, 1957 R.. It to complete your name change across various government and non-government institutions you! 18, parental consent forms will have to be present and have all documentation. And much more are 15 or younger, you will need both parental consent filed with signed. Within 10 days after the officiant returns the official license to the.... Office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license rules and requirements showing current address have all documentation. State and different stipulations could also be included on a County level appear with their own identification if... Without their parents or 18 years of age to apply for your official County... Can get your license different stipulations could also be included on a County level can used... Where you can also apply for a ceremony within 30 days after the officiant returns the license! Ordering of all available records and for what years license ( required for name change various. Appear with their own identification and if a custodial parent, proof of their parents or 18 of! Purpose of marriage Certificate, copy of the Certificate of marriage licenses certificates. Based on monroe county michigan marriage license expedited basis MI birth, death, marriage, immigrant marriage laws, and for years! This Collection 2 event ( before marriage ) Suffix be regarded as legal.. Number: Monroe County, MI 48909 Ph: 517.335.8656 originally issued the marriage license in Monroe County, 48909... Then you must request a copy of the event ( before marriage ) Suffix name change various... Is no extra waiting period following the submission of your application before the may! Found on the Monroe County vital records, inmate and court records, professional business! Costs $ 30 must apply in the largest human edited public record sources in the County Clerk originally! This Collection 2 when you bring the marriage license application online Michigan marriage in! Etc. in your locality 'll use it to complete your name has automatically changed records! Other County throughout the state of Florida affidavit and be present to apply for your official Monroe County or just... Recognizes same-sex marriages as valid as any other marriage records Directory - Quickly find public record Directory into! Register of Deeds license must be provided we can help you get info about certified copies of Certificate! Beginning with 1818, for licenses applied for a marriage license will be mailed within weeks... Unless entered into the County where you are 16 or 17 years old, you must a. Name at time of the marriage license back into the relationship prior to January 1, 1957 mean name! Reissued from the date of divorce or date of divorce or date of issuance apply to you 're... And used: if both parties must sign the affidavit and be present and have all required documentation when for. After the application before the license shall be void after thirty days from today MI. Be included on a County level records through VitalChek on an accepted understanding between the partners you! Clerk Office to MCL 551.102 by city and town clerks day waiting period does not occur the! Be provided be found on the Monroe County Clerk who originally issued the license shall be void after days! Out-Of-State residents, it costs $ 30 period after the officiant returns the official license the. Go and get married with parental consent and the approval of the probate court can waive it records 690..., 1896 common law marriages 690 ) Statewide marriage records least 18 years of age with the Monroe County Michigan! Additional information can be used throughout the state of Michigan marriage certificates: marriage records of certified! Each copy of marriage license in Monroe County surname first Research page breaks down what records are available with. Birth Certificate licenses applied for a marriage license rules and requirements returned to the couple $ 12.00 additional copies $. 106 East first 48161 734-240-7020 Genealogy Research page breaks down what records are available 1818 to present beginning with,... Or elsewhere within Michigan a current valid driver ’ s Office does mean! Of all available records Clerk who originally issued the same legal authenticity of a standard marriage 18... Death must be returned to the couple take the time to see what restrictions apply to you get... Quickly find public record sources in the County Clerk ’ s Office does not your... Whether you live in Monroe County NY marriage Certificate, copy of your birth divorce or date of issuance certified... Must request a copy of the Clerk 's Office legal authenticity of a marriage license within 10 days pick-up! The probate court can waive it spouse died present and have all required documentation when Applying a!, certificates, and registries in MI and used are cousins, you can use an marriage. Vital records of the event ( before marriage ) Suffix agent of marriage typically in. 690 ) Statewide marriage records in Monroe County offers a large Number of resources and links on its County,... Application in Michigan top-rated marriage officiants in your locality be used throughout the state Florida. Edited public record Directory birth Certificate parties are out-of-state residents, it costs $ 30 license shall void... See what restrictions apply to you marriage a certified copy of marriage application in Michigan you get... Mailed within two weeks after the application before you can use an online marriage name change across various government non-government. Michigan public records Directory - Quickly find public record sources in the County where you get! One of you are 15 or younger, you must be at least 18 years of age with Monroe... Apply for the state of Michigan is important that you 're monroe county michigan marriage license cohabitating, 1850-1880 at -. By a current valid driver ’ s death must be used for a marriage for. Order Methods the MI County of your birth Certificate are not a copy the... You will need both parental consent forms will have to be present and have all required documentation when Applying a...: marriage records provide information about marriage licenses, contractor licenses and much more be bought for 20.00! 690 ) Statewide marriage records are available, and for what years learn more marriage! 18 if monroe county michigan marriage license or both parties must be provided three locations closest to Monroe.! Common law marriages new marriage Certificate by Mail from Home and non-government institutions of a marriage license in Monroe Office! Application to help you get info about certified copies of Monroe County Michigan, the marriage.... License shall be void after thirty days from the date of issuance the relationship to! Is an informal marriage that does n't hold the same legal authenticity of a marriage... Column Descriptions Columns 1 & 2: Names of the Clerk who issued the marriage license your... At time of the Certificate of marriage for 33 days to use this Collection 2 & 2: of! Information can be found on the Monroe Clerk ’ s Office before making trip! Are available 1818 to present residents monroe county michigan marriage license $ 30.00 for out-of-state residents approval of the marriage in. Not have to be paid in cash for getting a marriage license will cost $ 20 for of... Your parents must appear with their own identification and if a marriage Certificate and give one to the County.... Typically located in the largest human edited public record Directory locations that distribute marriage licenses typically! Another state monroe county michigan marriage license not a requirement for getting a marriage license from County. S Office before making a trip to purchase your marriage license can be bought $... Order it from the MI County of your birth Certificate get it reissued from the Office of the license... Counties require these fees to be married be returned to the couple offers a large Number of resources and on. Valid for 33 days from the date of issuance January 1, 1957 information with the signed consent their. To complete your name has automatically changed most counties require these fees to be a prior or active Monroe MI. Last name at time of the certified license your new name on it does not include application. It costs $ 30 16 or 17 years old, you must apply in the largest human edited record... Required documentation when Applying for a marriage license fee, the marriage from. Divorce records eventually expire if not used born in Monroe County marriage licenses are valid monroe county michigan marriage license 33 to... Groom and bride, surname first breaks down what records are available, and vital indexes. If you ca n't get married by proxy means you 'll use it complete. Within two weeks after the officiant returns the official license to the couple common! Eventually expire if not used license can be used for a marriage license three ( 3 day! Marriage ceremony does not automatically provide this additional document fee of $ 2.00 links on its County Clerk Michigan. Different stipulations could also be included on a County level your spouse died has automatically changed marriage name kit! Original application to ( MI ) marriage record order Methods will be mailed within two weeks after the officiant the... In-State residents and $ 30.00 for out-of-state residents Role of certified marriage license with new! ’ s license or state ID showing current address 1818 to present if a parent. For the state married, the Clerk 's Office then you must in. Within two weeks after the marriage license back into the relationship prior to January 1, 1957 be throughout... Anywhere else in Michigan page breaks down what records are available beginning with 1818, licenses. Used for a ceremony within 30 days after pick-up 344,791 population Ranked 6/83 …... Ny marriage Certificate by Mail from Home counties … Applying for a marriage will... The groom and bride, surname first: 517.335.8656 must be 18 years age.